TRIP LEE’S ALBUM (THE WAITING ROOM) TRACK LISTING: - Christian Hip-Hop Blog |Most Trusted CHH Blog

Breaking On DW

Wednesday, February 1, 2017


01. Clouds
02. Too Cold
03. Lord Have Mercy
04. IDK
05. Ready ft. Dimitri McDowell
06. Still Unashamed ft. Tedashii
07. Money Up
08. Out My Way
09. Longer ft. India Shawn
Billion Years ft. Taylor Hill
Two years removed from his 5th album Rise, which debuted at #2 on the Billboard Rap chart and #16 on the Billboard 200, Trip sounds more focused than ever. "It’s time," he says...
His new mixtape The Waiting Room is an exercise in power and precision. Though its title speaks to things like patience and contentment—all which are good and true and examined here with a biblical lens—the urgency is also deeply felt. "This earth is a place where all of our longings just won’t come true," Trip says. "We’re always waiting for things to be made right."
Throughout the 10 songs that make up The Waiting Room, Trip wrestles with joy and pain, life and death, and the realities of our current social and political climate. Since Rise, violence, injustice, and heightened levels of civil unrest have captivated our national consciousness. The example of the church, Trip argues, is needed now more than ever before. "We have to step up and meet people where they are. That’s how you create change."

The Waiting Room is Trip at his most self-actualized. It probes and prods; it’s fun; there is measured tension. It’s an artist operating at the height of his gift. Start to finish, the project has a soulful air—moody synths and chords and interesting key changes—that match Trip’s intensity and crisp delivery. His skill as an MC shines bright as ever, and once again proves his standing as one of the best doing it today. "It’s been awhile since I put some new music out," Trip says. "This one is special and will hold people over until the next album. Rawness, real emotion, and a fresh perspective. Here’s The Waiting Room."

Reach Records’ Trip Lee has shared his first mixtape, The Waiting Room.
The project is made up of 10 tracks, including the lead single “Too Cold” with production from frequent collaborator GAWVI and “Still Unashamed” with a verse from labelmate Tedashii.
Trip, who released his first album in 2006 while he was still in high school, spoke with HipHopDX about addressing the hardships he’s been persevering through on The Waiting Room.
“Sometimes when things are going great, we think everything’s great in the world. Oh, life isn’t that hard. Things going fine,” he shared. “But it’s those times when there are particular hard things that always in our faith, we’re reminded, oh, this life isn’t all that there is. There are hard things about it. Maybe I’m not as strong as I thought I was. I’m kinda weak and my health will leave me one day. Stuff that we bank on like it’s ultimate or like it’s final or like it’s eternal really isn’t and hard times remind us of that. So that’s some of the backdrop of this record is I’m waiting for a day when all things will be made right, but I’m gonna just try to persevere through this hard life while I’m here.”
This is the follow-up to 2014’s Rise album.

No comments: